• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

ASR Directiva Open Source Speaker Review

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
As some of you know, we have had a project to design an open-source speaker based on Purifi driver. It has been led by our member, @Rick Sykora who has named it "Directiva." You can read about it here: https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...r-open-source-platform-speaker-project.20407/

The idea came about from a hypothesis: if a speaker design had access to Klippel Near-field scanner, would he be able to design a super speaker? I own the speaker but I am not a speaker designer so it made sense to have others help create one. The results of that work is now here in the form of a prototype built by Rick with much help on design side from member @ctrl.

Other than the crinkled woofer from Purifi, there is not much to distinguish this speaker from any other DIY prototype:

ASR Directiva Review Open Source Purifi Speaker.jpg

I let Rick chime in with the choice of tweeter. On the back side, we have an SB Acoustics passive radiator:

ASR Directiva Review Open Source Purifi passive radiator Speaker.jpg

My understanding is that a traditional port design is difficult for the Purifi driver and hence the use of the radiator.

Connectivity is provided through a SpeakOn connector which provides dual set of inputs, one for tweeter and one for woofer.

This is an active design so I build a compact system to drive it comprising of the Minidsp 2x4 HD and SMSL VMV A2 desktop amplifier. The combination sat on top of the speaker with a pad under it. It was actually a bit smaller than it which helped with not creating diffraction error or changing baffle compensation.