• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

[Gallium Nitride amplifier] Impressions of the Mini Gan 5 by Premium Audio, pictures / video inside

Phorize

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
While I'm a noob here, it hasn't taken me long to realise that "sounds better" and "particular sound signature" type statements are meaningless here at ASR unless supported by blind ABX testing.

I think you’ll find they are meaningless in any circle where reason prevails.

VintageFlanker

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Don't you think there's any chance than this:
Before starting, I recall what theoretically could bring GaN VS traditional silicon transistors (to take up what was mentioned by Orchard Audio) :
Less harshness
Cleaner highs
Better transparency
Higher detail
had an influence on this...
This Mini Gan of me, sounds globally better than the Hypex Ncore,
?

I would say that they have a rather particular sound signature for class D, a bit like for the Sabaj A20a which I reviewed here.
To me, Ncores are sounding 100% transparent. So... if this sounds whatever different or particular, then, it sounds worse. Just sayin'

OP
daniboun

daniboun

Major Contributor
First I want to reassure everyone, I have no action at Premium Audio in the same way as I have none at Sabaj).
I share my impressions and I am always in search of new products ... it is in a way my passion)

When I had done the same with the Sabaj A20A it turns out that many people were skeptical and the same with the LEAF Dual DAC that I introduced to enthusiasts on dyaudio and ASR.