• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Upgrade path from a Denon AVR-X3600H?

Head_Unit

Major Contributor
...which is currently driving Focal 936/CC900/SR900, plus an SVS SB-2000 Pro. Upgrading the speakers, or going to Atmos, or adding another sub...those are under consideration but that's a different thread.

The question here is what might give better sound. I don't believe measurements are all however as an engineer I would want an even lower noise floor. AND still have room correction, Audyssey or Dirac or there's another I forget. Source is basically an Oppo UDP-203, and sometimes AirPlay. So far no surround from Netflix etc as there's not a connection from the display.*
- Are there any pre/pros really better than what is in the -3600 (given a desire for room corection and AirPlay)?
- I know you can turn off the L/R internal amp. I know you cannot turn them off individually in pairs. Can you turn them ALL off?
- Amp, again would want a lower noise floor. Want Class D/G/H due to one circuit, cuz I would think to upgrade for more power just to have more headroom.
- 5-channel amp might be cool...though if using the 3600 as a preamp a 3-channel really seems sufficient to me. Nominations? Those ATI and Monoprice Monolith I read good things, but back to Class AB efficiency and eh somehow it would be interesting to try something different. And not humongous. Oh and heat in the cabinet.
- Budget, I dunno. $5k for an amp? Not too fixed really. What high-end amp companies are making 3/5 channel amps?

*hmmm, isn't there an ARC connection? I gotta pull out the cabinet and look again!

Golfx

Forum Donor