• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

MQA Deep Dive - I published music on tidal to test MQA

Status
Not open for further replies.

raistlin65

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
from the 'papers' i have read on AES, they're borderline a predatory journal.

the papers' transcripts follow no real academic structure, their language is intentionally difficult to understand, and their abstracts have no real meaningful information and is there to look 'sciency'

At least the name of the journal represents that, they're a bunch of engineers who wanted to do 'science'.

He asked if anyone did any research and there are two papers on AES about it, I'm a biologist so i can't really critique the audio science in the paper.

And a lot of the AES papers that are referenced in ASR discussions are convention/convention papers. In academia, they don't carry the same weight as scholarship as full journal articles. Convention paper/conference proceedings are generally less full write-ups of research. And they tend to not go throught the more rigorous peer review and editing that a full journal article will.

So in other disciplines, a researcher might share what they're doing with a convention paper or conference proceeding publication. But serious important research would eventually get written up in a full journal article. And a lot of what goes on at convention and conferences can't make that cut.

As to the predatory nature, note that AES convention paper guidelines specifically talk about company logos and company information in their submission guidelines

https://www.aes.org/journal/con_infoauth.cfm