• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Topping D50 DAC

lotse888

Hi,
is it normal that the D50 was warmer -meaning quite warm- than the D30 after an hour of 16/44.1 playback? 210mA@5W is not that much heat...
Oh yes, forget to say that this brand new D50 is now dead silent after a crackling sound in speakers... PSUs tested and ok, the D50 is dead.
Thanks for feedback fellows!
Matthieu

Not with mine. I played it for an hour and the chassis may be slightly warmer than room temperature.

Hawkwindx

Ordered this DAC and waiting patiently for delivery, should be here in a week or two. I’m new to the terminology. Upsampling? Filters?

I know how to hook this up between my iMac and Bottlehead Crack headphone amp, but any other parameters I will not know how to adjust. Also using Audirvana. Topping does not have a manual for the D50 on their website.

Can anyone point me to a resource that will explain how to use this DAC so I’ll know what I’m doing when I open the new D50 package?

Zek

Major Contributor
I know how to hook this up between my iMac and Bottlehead Crack headphone amp, but any other parameters I will not know how to adjust. Also using Audirvana.
All adjustments make in Audirvana.

rh0Negative

Ordered this DAC and waiting patiently for delivery, should be here in a week or two. I’m new to the terminology. Upsampling? Filters?

I know how to hook this up between my iMac and Bottlehead Crack headphone amp, but any other parameters I will not know how to adjust. Also using Audirvana. Topping does not have a manual for the D50 on their website.

Can anyone point me to a resource that will explain how to use this DAC so I’ll know what I’m doing when I open the new D50 package?