• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Benchmark AHB2 Amp

PaulD

Whatever caused the 'space removal', the possibly non-existent level matching definitely has nothing to do with it.
Not true. The only way to match the levels properly is with an RMS voltmeter and a test signal (typically 1KHz). There is no mention that they did that, so the levels were unmatched.

Small level differences are perceived not as a difference in volume but as a difference in detail, including ambience, revere taels and so on - thus the "space removal".

I have A DAC3 in a mastering studio (feeding JBL M2s). It is as clean and transparent as any other top-of-the-range Doc that I have used.

restorer-john

Grand Contributor
Not true. The only way to match the levels properly is with an RMS voltmeter and a test signal (typically 1KHz). There is no mention that they did that, so the levels were unmatched.

Level matching at 1kHz can also introduce issues where a product has a roll-off at one or other (or both) ends of the spectrum. Such products, regardless of careful level matching will be betrayed by detail loss at the top end or dryness (lack) of bass at the bottom end. Or a combination of both.

Thankfully, most DACs are pretty much ruler flat where it counts. Amplifiers, not so much, especially when delivering medium to high outputs.

pogo

Major Contributor
Small level differences are perceived not as a difference in volume but as a difference in detail, including ambience, revere taels and so on - thus the "space removal".