• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Genelec 8351B Teardown (2nd Disassembled)

Sebastiaan de Vries

Hi Sebastiaan.

Sorry for the very late reply! I work as an electrician and I'm extremely busy at the moment! :(

Thank you for the very detailed reply! I've been reading through it and I'm a little jealous of your equipment. :)

My set up is in a typical English lounge and I'm limited in placement just like you. I currently use Spendor A7 speakers with March Audio P451 Monoblocks.
I use an Anthem STR Pre-Amp as volume control and source selection (This pre-amp has AES/EBU).
For music, I use an Innuos Mini Mk3 with a Linear PSU as a ROON core with TIDAL HIFI as a streaming service.
I use an OPPO UDP 203 for my movies which is hooked up to a Nvidia Shield running a PLEX server. The OPPO downmixes the multichannel from the movies to 2.1.
I use two subwoofers which are placed quite well and I get linear bass from 14hz to the crossover at 80hz.

The Anthem STR has room correction built in but would this work alongside the GLM?

I love your Trinnov! I bet that cost a fortune!! :)

Are the Genelecs ok near to sidewalls?

Don't be sorry. This is a hobby/passion, not a duty. any time... :D

Thanks for your information. Although many roads lead to Rome (so to speak), my recommendation would be, Since all your sources are digital anyway, stay entirely in the digital domain through the Genelecs.

If you choose to enter this new DSP corrected speaker era with the Genelecs, much of your current equipment is redundant, and I would suggest selling it and make a fresh start. For example, you don't need the amplifier and DAC section of the Anthem.