• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amir's TODO thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eric Auer

The SMSL M8A could give the Topping D30 a run for its money.

It was recently on massdrop for under $180.

Eric

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Amir, where is the Gustard U12 in your queue? I've been using one every day for the last 20 months or so (I like its stable drivers, and it's a very cheap way to go from USB to AES), so I'm eager to find out if it's contributing horrific levels of jitter or other noise.
I am debating what to test next. As a reward for people who contribute to this thread, I will measure the Gustard U12 next. :)

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)

Eric
It certainly has nifty specs. It is not active on Massdrop though and Amazon price is $250 so double the price. Let me know if it shows up for less and I will consider purchasing it.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)

tim_j_thomas

My vote for a Raspberry Pi review! Seems like with an external USB HD, they would be an "ideal" music server.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
My vote for a Raspberry Pi review! Seems like with an external USB HD, they would be an "ideal" music server.
I will bump up the priority on that. My bucket is runneth over though as far as projects. :)

tim_j_thomas

Thanks!! I was thinking that a Pi would be simpler to set up and much cheaper than a PC. I'd love to find a turnkey system available.

OP
amirm

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)