• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

All about Reel-to-Reel Tapes

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
My background is in tape, as that's where my early training was. My first job after University was designing electronics for high-speed tape duplicators, and devices for analysing blank tape for quality before duplication. Machines I worked on were Ampex 360s and AG440s, and Philips Pro50s and Pro75s.

I learnt a lot about tape, it's limitations and how to get the best out of it, and became something of an obsessive about tape machine line-up. Later I worked at Ampex, so got involved with the ATR series and MM1000 series. Fun times, however, as soon as recording onto hard-disc became possible, I was more than happy to get rid of tape and avoid all the hassles that went with it.

As I said on another thread, I'm fascinated by the dead-ends of audio and tape is one of them, and although I'm now and then working on restoring a 1963 Ferrograph tape machine, I have no nostalgia for the medium. They do look lovely, though, with big reels going round,VU meters twitching, and the smell.....

S.

Frank Dernie

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
My B77 isn't smelling too good Serge :( . I played a tape the other day, went through to eat after rewinding the tape and when I came back the room smelt a bit "hot pcb" which i traced back to the Revox.
Tim de Paravincini offered to rebuild it for me over the holidays but I need to check how much that will cost since I use it once in a blue moon so may do it myself!

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor