• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Locking Banana comparison

Kal Rubinson

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Forum Donor
I just took my doors off, I’m my opinion the doors aren’t up to the level of finish quality of the speakers.
Agreed but the appearance with the doors off seems somewhat "unfinished."

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
OP
W

waynel

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Copycats running the same speaker wire. :p
I just checked and I've been using these cables (Canare 4S11) since 2007, so I'll wager I was first!

Last edited:

krabapple

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I put a length of heat shrink tubing over the - (black) lead for the same reason. Looking at a pair of banana's plugged into amps/speakers they seemed to be just begging to touch each other and short out unless something is done.
View attachment 92386

How would/could that literally happen?

Two banana plugs somehow becoming flexible and touching has *never* happened to me in >3 decades of audio hobbying. What *can* happen is a stray copper strands from wire carelessly attached to a speaker or AVR input, touching its neighbor.

Kal Rubinson

Master Contributor
Industry Insider
Forum Donor
I just checked and I've been using these cables (Canare 4S11) since 2007, so I'll wager I was first!
You do although I did not recognize them from your picture. Shrink wrap over the leads going into the plug?

OP
W

waynel

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
You do although I did not recognize them from your picture. Shrink wrap over the leads going into the plug?
Just a bit of grey shrink wrap where the outer jacket ends.

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor