• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Record music from vinyls to files?

Fishie

Hi, I am totally new to vinyls yet I have a few pieces of vinyl records at home. Never had the chance to hear them, I would like to ask if there is a way to convert the analog signals in the vinyls to digital files?

I currently have a RME ADI-2 Pro and would like to use it for capturing sound from the vinyls and convert it to digital. Is there any recommendations on a turntable and a phono preamp for the money? Thanks!

Last edited:

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Yes, you'll need a turntable, a phono preamp which will provide analog signals to the ADC in the RME. Which will let you record the vinyl sound to digital files.

You might also use some software like this from Channel D. Pure Vinyl. But it isn't a necessity.
http://www.channld.com/purevinyl/

OP
Fishie

Fishie

Yes, you'll need a turntable, a phono preamp which will provide analog signals to the ADC in the RME. Which will let you record the vinyl sound to digital files.

You might also use some software like this from Channel D. Pure Vinyl. But it isn't a necessity.
Much thanks for the software recommendation. Do you have any ideas what turntable and phono preamp I should get, and how much they would affect the sound of the analog signal? Thanks!

Willem

Major Contributor
I suggest buying the cd or download instead. You would not waste a lot of money on a turntable and if the original was a digital recording in the first place you get much better audio quality.

Jas0_0

Forum Donor