• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Vintage amplifiers that could challenge or approach current state of the art amplifiers

March Audio

Master Contributor
Audio Company
Have you ever measured the noise on a components power rail?

No, I have not. I am not experienced in conducting measurements myself. The only measurements we conducted were with my engineer friend on the power distributor strip. He himself doubts the effects of such interference on music much like you.
That's because he, as a trained and educated EE, understands why there is not necessarily a correlation from one to the other. He understands the process by which the mains supply gets turned into a quiet supply for the electronics inside the box.

With respect you are using lay intuition to form your conclusions. No doubt biased by (erroneous) things you had read or been told from the audiophile community. Your subjective test conclusions can't be regarded as accurate because you used zero controls when making the assessment meaning bias will be a given.

Anyway this us the last point I will make as this is derailing the thread.

Last edited:

gags11

Forum Donor
None of you guys are wrong.

grand piano + huge ballroom = beautiful sound
grand piano + anechoic chamber = shit sound

If you can imagine and agree with the above, the rest are all derivatives of the above.

murraycamp

Forum Donor
I have installed a parallel noise eater and ferrite clamps on the power cables to less the effect. The result is better imaging and greater tonal balance.

:facepalm:

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor