• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Serious Question: How can DAC's have a SOUND SIGNATURE if they measure as transparent? Are that many confused?

solderdude

Grand Contributor
I can get that. Especially as a lawyer I have a hint of knowledge about burden of proof :)

But it seems that when some people give proof with numbers and measurements, it is "Here is proof".
And when some other people come up with measurements and numbers stating the opposite, it is "Your measurement procedure is biased => your equipment is not enough => you have no knowledge".

Under these circumstances, it is really difficult to tell who "really knows it's stuff" and depending on results of measures given by one or the other is highly questionable.

So much for science...

It is really simple.

Either one measures several aspects with sufficiently good equipment (your average computer soundcard is not good enough) and have knowledge on how to measure properly ... or you use your ears.
When measuring you have to understand measuring limits and the used equipment and how to ensure signals are within required levels.

In the latter case (using the ears as instrument), when it is for truth-finding, you need to level match within 0.1dB (1%) under load and the one doing the testing must never know which devices you are comparing. On top of that you need to rule out chance of guessing correctly. This means statistically enough 'attempts' have to be made. It is also essential that each 'attempt' is random.

It is not that people doubt your ears or gears nor that you have to have knowledge about electronics to do a proper comparison.
What's been questioned is the method used to arrive at conclusions.