• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What you need to know about the virus in China "2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hiten

I am here in Beijing (since 2003) and my wife and children are 1200 miles away down on the family farm in Sichuan. In my Wechat circle of friends I have over a 1000 contacts (I have been a teacher all these years) and aside from asymptomatic cases I believe that the numbers from China are most likely reliable. I was advised by my school to return my tickets (I had a later start planned for the Chinese New Year) and have been, like hundreds of millions of other people, totally isolated and only going out once a week to the grocery store (everyone wearing mandatory masks). I have a good friend in Hubei province and asked him if he knew personally of a single case and he answered in the negative. Another friend, a graduate of UPenn, is in Wuhan and also has no personal knowledge of a single case. Within my circle of contacts of students and teachers I do not know of a single case. As I stated previously, posts in Chinese critical of the initial mistreatment of the doctor who tragically died at such a young age were NOT removed. New cases in Beijing are announced by the distict, and in some cases, by the neighborhood of occurrence. As soon as a connection was identified between returning travelers all international flights into the capital were rerouted to other cities to effect mandatory quarantine. Six miles away from where my family is there was one case (a visitor from Hubei) that was completely sealed off; each village in those mountains was , like my building complex in Beijing, barricaded and restricted to residents only who are allowed to g