• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Who's on Lock Down or Working from Home because of you know what?

beefkabob

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm an attorney in BigLaw. My firm asked everyone to WFH starting tomorrow, though technically global offices will be open where legal. IT infrastructure has been bolstered considerably to support a whole firm going remote. The open question is how much I'll be able to bill, given that our (soon to be first) daughter's kindergarten has gone virtual, and we'll have to see how much parental guidance she'll need. That will fall to me, because...

My wife is a neurologist at a university hospital. She has a rotation that will enable her to monitor patients from home for the next two weeks. After that we'll both be going on parental leave for our forthcoming daughter, so we'd largely be home anyway. Just fewer visitors. My sister-in-law was going to fly in from Vienna on April 1, but obviously that's not happening.

Power couple alert!

If only I'd married up...

Congrats on your coming kid. And your other kid being in kinder.

My tutoring center already had lots of kids using Skype. Now they all use Skype. A handful have shown up for class. We lecture them then let them stay for that class. The office is open for next week at least, but it's 3400 square feet and up to 4 people, all in different rooms. We're pretty far from each other. Yeah, I have way too much office space. Now I'm paying for it all, and it's barely used! In 7 days, none of it will be used! The cleaners came to the office today, but I canceled them at my house and office from now on. Just left them some extra money at the office.