• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Making a streamer with Intel Nuc/how

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
USB 3.0 has throughput that is 5x1GB Ethernet. Also, that router is latest WiFi tech which easily exceeds 1GB Ethernet, and it has a wired multigig port at 5GB Ethernet standard.. All of this fairly moot since a 100MB connection would be plenty for this application.

Thanks for this. I now realize that I've been doing IT wrong for the past 30 years. I can barely comprehend the trail of destruction I must have left behind at the string of global companies for which I have worked. In fact. I think there's a fair chance that I personally caused the 2008 global financial crisis by incorrectly using Gb to refer to gigabit, when I should have used GB as you have done above. It's now become clear to me why I couldn't understand any of the technical sessions at CiscoLive! Barcelona last month. I feel like such a fraud, at least I got to see Nile Rodgers and Chic live at the closing party.

OP
B

Bliman

Whew it is not simple. I have seen the ALLO USBRIDGE SIGNATURE PLAYER Streamer USB Interface Ultra Low Noise + Case
too. And I found it interesting. Could you tell me what the consensus is about this one? Especially Berwhale, because you seem sceptical about such a solution.
I can install Volumio on it. I don't think I can use Audirvana on it. But I think Volumio is good and I can use Tidal with it.
It is a Pi solution which many like here it seems.
The only question is storage. Downstairs connected to the computer is my router and it is a Fritzbox 7360 V2 and has one usb connection. So do I connect a hdd to the router, go for a simple wd nas (lower cost) or connect a hdd directly to the Allo ?