• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Audible difference in players? (Audirvana, JRiver, Roon, MusicBee, etc.)

OP
MediumRare

MediumRare

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
By default, I ran everything through the windows mixer, and I configured the Schiit modi 3 DAC to play at 44.1khz, which is the sample rate of all the music I listen to.
Are you using WASAPI or ASIO? If not, pretty sure the Windows Mixer is messing with your bitstream - check your settings and try one of them if they're available. The difference should be readily audible. Caveat: I'm not a computer expert by any stretch, just going off my personal experience.

mitchco

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Audio Company
https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...om-each-other-and-why.8269/page-3#post-208554

These tests also include the procedures on how to record the digital (and analog) outputs and compare (both audibly and visually) so with a minimal amount of gear, virtually anyone can repeat these tests and get the same results. Short answer - bit perfect is bit perfect regardless of software music player. Feel free to prove otherwise with any waveform or music comparisons that one can repeat as done in the articles linked above.

Vapor9

I would not believe it without evidence, just because someone says so.

Just my unscientific observation. Much like I believe that my older NAD integrated does not sound as good as my Wyred4Sound preamp/ncore amp combo - I have no scientific proof, but I do trust my ears.

OP
MediumRare

MediumRare

Major Contributor
Forum Donor

Berwhale

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
It may be possible to compare the output of players by capturing the USB packets generated by them using something like...