• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Review and Measurements of Massdrop THX AAA 789 Amp

Jimster480

Major Contributor
Recently acquired this amp... Didn't even realize it was this particular model, until I looked carefully. It is used with the HifiMan HE-6SEv2. Endgame. May move to a balanced DAC, just ... because :D

Peace.
Yep, I've been using it for 4 years now and love it.
I do wonder though on the Headphone AMP SINAD List it shows 2 SINAD (for 50mv load), one for balanced and one for SE.
Where was this measured @amirm because it isn't in this review. Unless it was buried in the pages somewhere.

Jimster480

Major Contributor
I've been using a Schiit Asgard 3 and it's a great amp but the 789 has a much more open soundstage to my ears. I've used the new Modi 3E with my HD600's and they've never sounded better. With my Focal Clear Pro's and Avantone Planar headphones I like the Modi multibit with the 789.
Need help here please. I'd like to use my Asgard 3 as a preamp for my powered monitors. Is that possible with the SE pass on the 789?
All in all, the best $120 that I've spent audio in a long time.
Yes you can pass the 789 through to another Amp as long as it is fed SE. Unfortunately not with balanced though :(

elira

Splitter cables to have what result? AFAIK you can't just split analog signals like that without a quality loss
Use your source with two amps. It's essentially what the "SE PASS" in the Massdrop THX AAA 789 Amp is doing, it's just a built-in splitter to daisy chain amps.

ssmith3046

Use your source with two amps. It's essentially what the "SE PASS" in the Massdrop THX AAA 789 Amp is doing, it's just a built-in splitter to daisy chain amps.