• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

WiiM Mini Streamer

telemike

Thanks for replying. I know I'm in the wrong place to say this, but I'm a novice with this. I really don't know what that means. I followed some instructions from Synology and downloaded the "media server" package and that's it. I don't know about the other things you refer to. (I did fear I would be in over my head with this stuff!)

keiron99

Thanks. I've done exactly as it says there - it's just painfully slow. Unusable in fact because it's so slow. (It works great apart from that!)

It has all the hallmarks of trying to use too big a file on an old underpowered computer.

Brantome

Major Contributor
Thanks for replying. I know I'm in the wrong place to say this, but I'm a novice with this. I really don't know what that means. I followed some instructions from Synology and downloaded the "media server" package and that's it. I don't know about the other things you refer to. (I did fear I would be in over my head with this stuff!)
Been a while since I used Synology’s own media server, but I fired It up again and I have no problem with speed etc when using it from the WiiM app - it appears as Synology_Ds213j under Home Music Server, and when I choose that then Music, I can then browse by folder, artist, album etc with no slowness in response.