• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need Recommendation on Tube Headphone Amp

Headphonaholic

I do (sort of) understand fun, that's why I have three turntables, but for me tubes are a step too far.
I feel like the second you decide that one non perfect technology is ok but another isn't your argument becomes irrelevant. What makes tubes a step too far and not turntables? I have no experience with turntables but I imagine the deviation in sound reproduction is the same if not greater with a turntable than a tube amp. Digital sound files are vastly superior, so why turntables? My guess is looks and nostalgia ;)

But that ignores a certain coolness and fun factor. Seriously. I use tubes, but with proper engineering so that I can achieve audible transparency. Sure I could use solid state and get the same results, but... I could also drive a Hyundai instead of a '57 T-Bird.* The Hyundai is cheaper, more reliable, and probably outperforms the T-Bird. But for car geeks, driving a T-Bird is... fun.

*Disclaimer: This is just an analogy. I drive a Hyundai because I'm largely uninterested in cars.
Tubes are cool! I own a couple tube amps myself. From a subjective audibility stand point they do sound a bit different, but it tends to be super slight in my experience. But I'll be honest with myself, I have them because they look cool, and as I have read in Don Hills signature, "People hear what they see." :)