• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Your Desktop Audio Setup?

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
sorry im a noob, but how did you connect your sub? iirc, the topping doesn't have a sub-out

It's a professional oriented sub so it has a High Pass filter unlike normal subs. In that case you connect the DAC to sub first then sub passes higher frequencies above the selected cutoff frequency to the monitors. Consumer subs you would need to have a sub out instead aside from the pre out

SlamTaz

It's a professional oriented sub so it has a High Pass filter unlike normal subs. In that case you connect the DAC to sub first then sub passes higher frequencies above the selected cutoff frequency to the monitors. Consumer subs you would need to have a sub out instead aside from the pre out
i totally forgot about those filters which, like you said, not all subs have it. thanks, much appreciated.

escape2

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I recently picked up an SVS SB2000, partly because it has a similar high pass filter built in, although it is fixed at 80 Hz, but it works for my needs.

tvih

Topping DX3 Pro+ for headphones (AKG K702). Topping TP30 via its own built-in DAC for Dynaudio Audience 42 speakers.

But changes are coming. Topping PA3s is on order for speaker amp duty, and will try to integrate a 10" DIY subwoofer. That means using motherboard analog audio to get the crossover and EQ right. Luckily my new motherboard's audio is much better than the previous one's. Though when not using the sub I'll use the DX3 as DAC via the secondary input.