• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping DM7 8-Channel DAC Review

Rate this DAC:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 7 2.2%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 18 5.6%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther

Votes: 52 16.2%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 244 76.0%

• Total voters

MacCali

Major Contributor
How do you propose an SPDIF signal to transfer 8-ch from your TV? Where is that "huge miss" please enlighten us.
connect it to your tv, which has spdif out? would it not decode the sound from the tv or something? am I missing something here. I do know you cant get more than 5 channels from your tv, but that would a quick convenient set up, correct me if im wrong I am not an audio expert[clearly]

MacCali

Major Contributor
For all of you wanting this to be the DAC 8 Pro, I will be selling mine as soon as I integrate my DM7 and burn in the 6" TRS to XLR cables for a few hundred hours to lift the Topping veil, widen the sound stage and get the USB to work on my Amiga.

I got two avr's, but I am a measurement chaser so if this was far simpler I would of went this route real quick.

mdsimon2

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I read the first 5 pages and gave up LOL, I see what you are saying. Seems like a mission from hell when you can basically get an AVR for around 1000 with all these features yet not the same measured performance, like a denon

That is fair, signal to noise ratio in this thread is not exactly high. :)

To me a multichannel DAC is great if you want a stereo system, whether that is 2.1, 2.2 or active 3 way + sub. This is very easy to do with a stereo SPDIF source as mentioned previously.