• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Topping a90discrete

staticV3

Master Contributor
@nonnyno looking at Topping's specs:
4841265.jpg 6050816.jpg

Could it be that you're using the A90D's SE output? Because that has less gain and less max power than the L50 with either of its outputs.

OP
N

nonnyno

Ok thank you. I accept I'm not providing the info necessary. I am not an engineer and not particularly technical. I accept that different units will have different volume curves but I am slightly surprised to find such variation within a manufacturer. That said I suspect that the volume curve differential is the answer. The unit can go loud At 60 its already becoming loud. I haven't taken it to 70 yet as its quite uncomfortable.

The driver is the Topping 5.3 usb driver.

So perhaps it is fact simply down to the different volume behaviors characteristics on the machine and I just have to get over a built in aversion to turning the volume controls right up for normal listening.

Oh and yes I am using the single ended output. I didnt realise it was that much less powerful that the L50's

staticV3

Master Contributor
Oh and yes I am using the single ended output. I didnt realise it was that much less powerful that the L50's
For high gain, high power SE output, the Topping A30Pro is the best they currently offer.

OP
N

nonnyno

For high gain, high power SE output, the Topping A30Pro is the best they currently offer.