• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Speaker advice for a novice

ping

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie trying to replace his broken speaker. Could use some advice.

Budget: Around $1500.

Usage: Primarily for songs (played from htpc or Spotify), and then for movies/tv shows.

Current setup: Xbox (for blu-ray) and Raspberry pi (will be replaced by PC soon) connected to Sony 4K TV, which is linked to my now broke Mackie CR3.
Bought that speaker w/o any research to just have some improvement over my TV's speakers. For $100 it did an ok job. Now, I'd like to step things up.

Room: 25 x 10, small studio apt. I sit 6 feet from my TV. Can play songs reasonably loud, since I don't share a wall with my neighbor.

These are some possible options suggested to me:

Active monitors (bookshelf):
Focal Alpha 65 ($800) - seems reasonable.
Neumann KH 120 ($1400) - is this worth the price and significantly better than other in list?
Audioengine HD6 ($700) - not very keen on bluetooth and fancy features

DAC
I was told a DAC would be better me than an AVR. And with a DAC I could also make use of optical connection. But I'm not sure if I really need a DAC, do I? If I do, what would be a good enough DAC?

Can you help me make a decision? Audio is subjective but I want to make a good start. Also I don't want to buy something under the illusion that just because something is expensive/popular it's going to sound better. Thanks!

NorthSky

Major Contributor
Canada West Coast/Vancouver Island/Victoria area

NorthSky

Major Contributor
• Floorstanding: https://www.themasterswitch.com/review-svs-ultra-towers
• Bookshelf: https://www.cnet.com/news/the-audiophiliacs-speaker-of-the-year-the-kef-ls50/