Recent content by WondrousHippo

1. W

Fiio R7 Android Streamer Review

Latency on the USB and SPDIF inputs is what I feared. These DAPS that offer DAC mode I think are routing audio through their system which is causing the delay, as opposed to having the DAC process it directly, essentially. That's my non-technical explanation, but I've used 3 DAPs as USB DACs...
  2. W

SMSL A300 Stereo Amplifier Review

I bought this one without measurements a while back since it had all the features I needed. I haven't had any usability complaints with it other than the IR receiver window needs to be bigger, I guess.
  3. W

Proper Metal music (no pony tails or choral crap)

Oh yeah, I’ve definitely checked out Timewave Zero…need to fire up the Blu-ray version I bought, lol. No synths, but the new Horrendous album is shaping up to be a monster.
  4. W

With so many sources available now, does anyone make a multi-source auto-switcher?

Yeah, I've been using this for a few years and can recommend it, though unfortunately some sources don't turn off their spdif signals properly.
  5. W

TOPPING DX9!

Ah I was hoping one set was inputs and one was outputs, but I dig having separate pre and line outs.
  6. W

TOPPING DX9!

Any photos of the rear? Curious to see all the inputs/outputs.
  7. W

I bought the album on Bandcamp Friday, and REALLY enjoyed it. New Krallice is out too…hope you like synths!
  8. W

TOPPING DX9!

SMSL’s UAC1 support actually working with the Switch and PS5 is iffy from device to device!
  9. W

TOPPING DX9!

Personally, I’d much rather have more SPDIF inputs — USB support on non-PC devices seems incredibly spotty, at least with game consoles. Anyway does this thing have analog inputs???
  10. W

Yeah that’s a great one. I really did like Heimdal by Enslaved, I’m a big fan of their E/Utgard/Heimdal run.
  11. W