Recent content by TXinD76121

1. TXinD76121

Tice TPT Enhanced Line Conditioner Review

Do they though? I always thought there was a certain amount of deliberate hokum in these products, like an Andy Kaufmann comedy routine that blurred the edges between the act and reality. "Hokum" meaning (according to Webster's) "1: a device used (as by showmen) to evoke a desired audience...
  2. TXinD76121

Apt Holman Preamplifier Review (vintage Audio)

Your Adcom had the same industrial designer as the Apt Holman, Charles Rozier. He did the industrial design of a lot of '70s-'80s hifi gear. The charge of "copying" is pretty harsh, unless you have evidence for it. People tend to like the style of the moment, in many things, and most designers...
  3. TXinD76121

Wolf's Measurements of Gustard A18 DAC

I've been writing on the web since 2002 and for magazines since 1988. My experience over many years is that readers don't pay attention to bylines. I can put up a guest post on my site with the author's name in two places, the one at the top in bold type with "Written by" in front of it, and...
  4. TXinD76121

Measurements of Gustard P26 Preamplifier

I'm very interested in this preamp. I'd been considering a Gustard A22, which has been slandered a bit around here but looks promising to me. But I wonder about getting locked in to running a DAC as a preamp; I'm in the middle of an epic exchange with a friend who is firmly in the "passive pre"...
  5. TXinD76121

Audioengine A5+ Powered Speaker Review

I second that--these are my computer speakers and I have an S8 underneath my desk. I love the speakers, listen to them every day for hours, and have done for many years now. I also own the larger Audioengine HD6 ($600 when I bought them) and don't like them as well. If the volume control goes...
  6. TXinD76121

IOTAVX SA3 Integrated Amplifier

What is your problem? Napakabastos mo.
  7. TXinD76121