Recent content by TNPFan

1. TNPFan

Benchmark AHB2 bridge mode vs McIntosh MC462

I have had the MC462 in my system for a few weeks now and am very much enjoying it. It is mated to a McIntosh C2700 preamp and feeding a pair of GoldenEar Triton One speakers matched with a pair of SVS SB 16 Ultras. I have been listening to a pair of AHB2s for several years and am very familiar...
  2. TNPFan

Ground loops and powered speakers.

I looked at one of those as well and decided I had to begin with one product or the other. Looks like we both solved a similar problem by approaching it at opposite ends. Ha! Glad to hear it worked for you. At $10, I may order the one you suggested just to see if there is any difference in sound...
  3. TNPFan

Happy to report I found a suitable solution. Turns out both of my Oppo players both have ground loop issues - at least, they do in my system. I found a ground loop isolator online, gave it a try and problem solved. It works so well that the skeptic in me disconnected and reconnected everything a...
  4. TNPFan

After trying several configurations, I believe I have traced my issue to the Oppo UDP-205 DVD/CD player. I am thinking it is just something with Oppo decks in general because I also have an Oppo UDP-203 and it does the same thing. When I use the cheater plug on either of the Oppo decks, the hum...
  5. TNPFan

I have tried using Direct, CD, and Aux and get the same result on each. I have even tried swapping out the interconnects as well. My next step is to reconnect the Rotel and Sony players to see what I get.
  6. TNPFan

Yes, when the Mute switch is "on" the hum (and the rest of the sound) goes away. I am beginning to think my Audio Research preamp and Oppo player simply do not play well together. When I replace the LS3B with a Benchmark Media HCG3, there is no hum. I guess I will have to go back to that setup.
  7. TNPFan

Good idea. I tried that early on and it does nothing.
  8. TNPFan