Recent content by scrubb

1. scrubb

Topping D50 III Balanced DAC with EQ Review

Great! Now I can properly set the EQ, just like on my old system:
  2. scrubb

2024 Total Solar Eclipse

Here are some of the photos I took in Southern Illinois. Equipment: Canon EOS M50, Canon 55-200 telephoto lens, Cheap universal solar lens filter when not fully eclipsed. I had to run the camera full manual to get it to take photos. It's internal logic system didn't understand what I was doing...
  3. scrubb

PK Sound steerable sound arrays

Nice to hear from the pro-sound crowd. I don't know anything about PK Sound. For my part, I was a small-time live audio engineer for 8 years about 25 years ago when modern line arrays were in their infancy. My company was still using stacked horn systems from the 1970s driven by Phase Linear...
  4. scrubb

Ethernet cable to buy / choose

"Your ears can deceive you. Don't trust them. Try listening again, only this time with ear plugs in."
  5. scrubb

I found out how to make the strongest subwoofer sound

The most intense bass I've experienced was at a very loud Mastodon concert in a theater. I was standing just under the front of the balcony and started having trouble standing because my legs were shaking. It took me a moment to realize that the all of the low bass (not just the kick drum) was...
  6. scrubb

What items have you purchased as a result of ASR?

Based upon reviews here: Schiit Modi+ Schiit Magni Heretic Schiit Mani 2 Topping D10s Douk Audio U2 Ayima A07 (x2) Allo Boss2 Player (x2) Roon Buckeye 2 channel Nc502MP Panasonic DP-UB9000 Parts Express C-Note speakers Wiim Mini Truthear x Crinacle Zero:RED Based on reviews of other things here...
  7. scrubb

If all speakers measure flat, what is the point of auditioning?