Recent content by SaulOteng1467

1. S

Recommendations for AVR that's good with music too?

Yeah, it seems unfortunately the newer Sherwoods are difficult to get even secondhand...But I suspect that the same thing that happened to my receiver probably happened to the other Sherwood...It was reported on another forum that Sherwood had HDMI board issues from 2005 onwards so Im guessing...
  2. S

How to compare speakers by specs for noobs?

So im just getting into hi-fi and Im having to compare speakers as I'm mainly buying online. How does one measure that one speaker might be better than another speaker? I understand checking sensitivity and making sure that 'generally, more power the better', but apart from checking sensitivity...
  3. S

Speaker matching power education/recommendations for a novice

Hey thanks so much Seb!!! :) This ii really helpful especially the stuff about sensitivity awesome stuff! As for power, I have seen things like "make sure your speaker power is twice as powerful as the amp power" .... so what you're saying is that this shouldn't matter too much in the budget...
  4. S

Speaker matching power education/recommendations for a novice

My issue is that I bought a budget range av receiver Pioneer VSX 534 and now I need a speaker. I'm looking for a pair of budget tower speakers but confused on what I should be aiming for power wise. I've just recently got into hifi and before posting here I did go to Google but got lost in...
  5. S

Recommendations for AVR that's good with music too?

So as per the title looking for an AVR that sounds great with music. I had a really old second hand cheap AVR that I bought from eBay for $250 US from a company called Sherwood (RD 705i), I don't think they have any credibility but the amp sounded amazing (for me) with everything that I threw...
  6. S

A question for all former Yamaha RX-V### owners: Sound wise what AVR did you sidegrade/upgrade to?