Recent content by Roy_L

1. R

Vintage speakers that hold up

What a wonderful, cozy and inviting listening room! I love the approach of no-tv and the combination of bookshelf speakers + Sub (which is my current setup form). Regarding the speakers, I was thinking about something about 20 years older...
  2. R

Glad to have started such a fun conversation! I remember that about 20 years ago, as a poor student, I got to visit some audiophile's attic listening room. He had a pair of old Altec-Lansing horn loaded speakers, unreasonably large for the room or the listening distance. However, when he...
  3. R

I visited today some trendy-hipster like cafe, which played music through some big, rectangular vintage speakers I did not recognize. The setting was far from ideal, but the sound was quite pleasant- almost cliché vintage (somewhat attenuated treble, considerable bass which doesn't really go...
  4. R

Woofer excursion

Over the years, especially with 2way speakers, I came to appreciate long excursion (travel distance) mid-woofers. There are speakers which seem to be capable of high dynamic range, while others of the same size just bottom out under pressure. (For example, in playing Pink Floyd's song "Hey You"...
  5. R

Cat resistant speakers

I did not, will do!
  6. R

Cat resistant speakers

Thanks guys. Just a reminder- the whole point is to be able to use the speakers with the grills OFF. To be able to see the round thingies wobble a bit.
  7. R

Cat resistant speakers

Hello, I'm looking for new speakers (as I do from time to time). However, my cat has a history of ruining drivers- he likes to stab the woofer's surround with his claw. It happened twice before (and was quite expensive to replace), so for the past few years I'm always with the grills on (which...
  8. R

Recommendation for closed back headphones, ~400$ budget

Never heard of these. Very interesting!
  9. R

Recommendation for closed back headphones, ~400$ budget