Recent content by Jbrunwa

1. Jbrunwa

Coffee - do you and how do you consume it?

Just bought a Decent DE1XL espresso maker after 20+ years using a Pasquini Livia 90. Talk about a 180 degree different approach . Will be interesting to experiment changing the extraction parameters.
  2. Jbrunwa

Upmixing - where are we at? Have people compared upmixers?

AFAIK not with Dolby, but on the AV40 with Auro-3D you can set room size (small, medium, large) and strength (1-16). I have no experience withthe Sony, Sennheiser, or other 360 sound processing
  3. Jbrunwa

I like Auro a little better than PLii, mainly because of the finer grained control of small, medium, large options in combination with a variable strength parameter that i can dial for my preference.
  4. Jbrunwa

I can’t do simultaneous as I have PLii in a 5.1 system at one location and DSU in a 5.1.4 system at another. I like PLii better. The panorama/music mode in particular sounds better to me. Much better use and blending of sound. If I didn’t also have Auro3-d I would seriously consider another used...
  5. Jbrunwa

JBL SDP-55 Audio/Video Processor Review

I have AV40 with XLR to Buckeye 6 channel NC502MP amps and Revel Be fronts with no audible noise. In theory this should be the same as JBL, but perhaps not in practice. There was originally a mute/unmute pop that was fixed when I returned the AV40 for the HDMI 2.1 upgrade. However IIRC there is...
  6. Jbrunwa

New Apple Music App for Classical

Yes. Just now playing Mahler Symphony No. 9 by Vienna Phil on Apple Music in Atmos on Apple TV EDIT: BTW, Apple Music aside, the Berlin Phil digital orchestra subscription is wonderful on Apple TV through our HT
  7. Jbrunwa

New Apple Music App for Classical

But if you search in the app using the metadata, you can add it to your library. Then it appears in Apple Music, and if you have library sync enabled, won’t that show up in Apple TV?
  8. Jbrunwa

Why are AVRs and AVPs so expensive?