Recent content by JBH129

1. JBH129

Onkyo TX-RZ50 Review (Home Theater AVR)

I have been using the RZ50 for a few months and just recently ran into an issue. It shut down on me twice during the new Batman movie when loud explosions occurred. I don’t see why this happened since my LR are powered with NC400s, all speakers are set to small and crossed at 80hz, I don’t...
  2. JBH129

Why Doubt Is Essential to Science - Sci. Am.

Doubt in conventional approaches/thinking is how we make progress. My view is that we (as a species) have such a limited understanding of the world that even when we believe we understand something, that understanding is superficial. This pandemic has demonstrated that doubt is essential...
  3. JBH129

Pioneer VSX-LX505 (with Dirac) Unboxing and Overview

Is it correct that these AVRs have a universal crossover rather than individual crossovers?
  4. JBH129

Buckeye Amps: New US based Hypex multichannel amplifier builder, line-up announcement!

Are any amps available for shipping now or is there a waitlist?
  5. JBH129

New Anthem Distribution Amp (4 zones (8 channels + 4 sub outputs + ARC) for $2000

https://hometheaterhifi.com/blogs/anthem-mdx-8-distribution-amplifier/ I came across the above advertorial/review and this amp looks like a pretty decent value (assuming the performance is decent). Has anyone used or seen measurements of a similar Anthem amp? I like the fact that each zone has...
  6. JBH129

Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD Player Review

While front projectors dont currently support DV, you can use a HDFURY device to trick a source (like ATV4K) to use LLDV (also known as player led DV). In this scenario, the ATV4K would tone map the movie for your projector (which would also apply its own tone mapping). It’s not as good as madvr...
  7. JBH129

Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD Player Review