Recent content by Ingenieur

1. Ingenieur

Master Thread: “Objectivism versus Subjectivism” debate and is there a middle ground?

I'm a realist I'm an Engineer, so objective by profession I'm (barely) human so subject to subjectivity My wife sums it as weirdly conflicted :D Perpetual stalemate with myself
  2. Ingenieur

Master Thread: “Objectivism versus Subjectivism” debate and is there a middle ground?

Subjectivity gets a bad name from claims like 'power cords make amazing differences' 'Little dots on things improve sound' Cable lifters 'Power conditioners revealed things I never heard before' Et al These claims make people like me distance myself from 'hearing things' which may not be a good...
  3. Ingenieur

Is the system an instrument or a conduit for art? Both? I believe in accuracy, output = input x gain But there is always distortion, usually speaker/room contributes the most. So some personal bias/preference must enter the selection process. I do believe all differences that can be heard can...
  4. Ingenieur

imho one brush does not paint all. Things Ike amps, DACs, etc, for the most part can be defined and evaluated primarily by specs/measurements and features. Speakers, headphones, cartridges, not so much. Perhaps the subjectives weighs a bit more with these. SQ Preference is a larger factor...
  5. Ingenieur

Snark? You telling me I don't understand what I am saying and take it upon yourself to interpret it for me, eg, "I agree with you", , when it was clear I don't, is the epitome of snark or arrogance. 'tone' lol I do not care. This all comes down to: Cars vs hifi analogy Both are hobbies in...
  6. Ingenieur

I am not 'following' anyone. I consider their opinion. I weight that opinion based on their credentials, experience, motivation for bias, my personal bias, etc. And consensus of others. I do not assume their expertise. But overall, this is a small factor in the decision process. I KNOW there...
  7. Ingenieur