Recent content by GelbeMusik

1. GelbeMusik

Salk WoW1 Bookshelf Speaker Review

I once had a business in the field of loudspeaker development, after working with a company, OEM only, for two years. I'm a natural scientist by education. Additionally I studied mathematics, chemistry, AI, social sciences, and was in economics for a year. I hang around with artist and musicians...
  2. GelbeMusik

Personality cult? I'm afraid I have to ask this, but shouldn't such an examination take place before the release? I mean, somebody had a little dream come true for a lot of dollars. It's kind of a bust for now. I think that's a pity. ( I wouldn't be so hasty because of the technical reason...
  3. GelbeMusik

A Freudian slip? -- good or odd ? -- I couldn't resist, sorry. Do You say something like "measures bad, sounds good"? Or do You expect this speaker to be out of specs, defective? Usually sound engineers are not interested in loudspeakers. They simply have to work. These people have other...
  4. GelbeMusik

Ja, now include the phases of the moon and we have arrived. Pardon the sarcasm, but there comes a time when that relativization stops. Sorry again, but this relativization of the mischief can be a real pain in the neck. If the measurements made are valid, then this is simply crap. You just...
  5. GelbeMusik

I listed some numbers above. I have to correct them down by 6dB. The reason is a wrong specification of the maximum excursion in WinISD. So there is still 70dB average level left if you want to have about 15dB dynamic - in one meter distance mind you. This is really not much. Especially the bass...
  6. GelbeMusik

Yep, I recommended to not push such little drivers way beyond their limit. But, in this very case the WinISD simulation software predicts a limit well above 96dB (2pi) / 90dB (4pi) from 50Hz (!!) on. We have 4pi conditions here. So, at least the 86dB-measurement doesn't show that much of...
  7. GelbeMusik

Genelec 8030C Studio Monitor Review