Recent content by Elephen

1. E

Eversolo DMP-A6 Streamer Review

Thanks. I have an inexpensive steamer that I hate and have put back in its box, but was able to connect the Mac to the streamer via Ethernet and relocate the DAC/headphone amp near my bed for late night listening. With the current set up, the Mac runs 24/7, the Benchmark DAC and Marantz AVR each...
  2. E

What does a streamer give me that I don’t have now?
  3. E

At the moment, my Mac mini is running Audirvana Origin. The Mac is connected to a Benchmark DAC2 HGC, which is connected to a Marantz Cinema 70s AVR via RCA inputs. I do not stream Tidal or Qobuz, but those services are available if I upgrade to Audirvana Studio. What will I gain by interposing...
  4. E

PrimaLuna Dialogue Seven Tube Amp Review

I’m not an engineer, and I’ve never owned a tube anything. However, I have to wonder whether reviewing a 15-year-old piece of equipment really tells us much about the quality of the product when new or the quality of newer products by the same manufacturer. In other words, did the owner give...
  5. E

Here’s my electronics wishlist. (1) Every AVP and AVR will have a USB-B input; and (2) every 2-channel receiver will have an HDMI eARC input.
  6. E

PS Audio PowerPlant 3 Review

For years, I have wanted to ask Paul McGowan to explain how an expensive power cable attached to a PowerPlant improves the sound even more. Thanks.
  7. E

Audioquest GO-4 Speaker Cable Review

Would this speaker cable work better if it used an automobile battery?
  8. E

Two-channel AVRs

Brave, I appreciate your reply. I’ll keep my eyes open.
  9. E

Two-channel AVRs

GXAlan, Thanks for your reply. You raised some good issues
  10. E

Two-channel AVRs

Thanks for the link. I‘m pretty certain that I’ve never seen a stereo amplifier that has multiple HDMI inputs.
  11. E

Two-channel AVRs