Recent content by boogeroo

1. B

DIY shoeboxes with drivers + external amp and active xover?

Yes, i don't really have a design goal other than to get 2 boxes making some coherent sound. I'm a software dev by trade and I'm looking at this project as a hello-world of sorts, mating drivers to a box, using 3rd-party xovers+amps, make some noise. I know far too little to know what i need...
  2. B

Wow that Focal clone looks like the real deal, way out of my skill level lol, I'm for now small animal coffin maker level. Okay I think i understand the point about inter driver distance, its a function of the xover point and distance between driver. Alright sounds like a fun little project...
  3. B

I'm interested in building my own speakers but lack wood working experience, I do know which end of a saw to point forward, and I'm fairly confident in making smallish squarish boxes. With that in mind I wonder if copying Wilson Audio's would be a good place to start? I hate throw-away work, so...
  4. B

Cause of Listening Fatigue?

i find i have eye reading or vision fatigue as well, not just words but images, up to a certain point of doom scrolling i get tired and nauseated and have to close my eyes a bit. Perhaps the same with listening fatigue, the neurons in the retinas/ears/brain probably has a finite capacity to...
  5. B

my speaker, room or ears suck for 'depth'

I was thinking about that, I have a fair understanding on how triangulation work with signals, with 3 omni directional mics you can pinpoint a vector towards the sound within a hemisphere(ignoring the mirror plane) around the 3 mics for wavelengths that are smaller than the distance between the...
  6. B

I didn't know room eq has down sides, I'm assuming its a function of the aggressiveness of the eq'ing? i.e if the FR is relatively flat, mild eq = less detrimental; and if FR is all over, steep/complex eq = more detrimental?
  7. B