• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Denon Replaces AKM AK4458 DAC IC in X4700H and X6700H

Oski1997

btw while it may very well be the dacs at play, there is such a distinct difference in the sound from denon to marantz, that it may be you just prefer that more music what id call warmer and rolled off highs, to a denon.
I did notice the softer/"musical" difference right away. I think for this reason Denon is better for movies (especially IMAX Enhanced movies). But, it wasn't just that. The Marantz also had more detail coming from the speakers. I could hear more (like chirping birds, or creaking sounds) and it was cleaner sounding. I actually liked the sound of the Denon better but it lacked clarity. I'm new to all of this so I'm not familiar with the vocabulary used to describe sounds. That's why I kept the Marantz. I'm sure if I had the Denon with the AKM4458, I would've liked that better. But, for now, at least with the Denon I received, there was something missing in the detail/clarity of the sound. Which I think is the new DAC not performing as well.

jrocks29

In my experience no you cannot buy an old refurbished unit with a warranty to avoid getting a newly built unit. That is exactly what i did and got a new one. After contacting Accessories 4 less, they informed me there were no older refurbished ones left. They are the top dog in the refurb game, and actually carry a 3 year warranty for some of their products like the 4700h I received.
Does anyone know for sure what dacs are being used in the recently build Denon receivers (x4700, or others) since may 2021?

Oski1997