• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Extreme Snake Oil

antcollinet

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
In fairness, I noticed the website used force. But that seems wrong too. Isn't it a field?
Unit of energy is the joule. It can be stored in many forms: Yes a field, such as in a charged capacitor. But also chemically as in a battery - or in fuel (oil, wood etc). In food. In the form of potential energy such as lifting a mass through a height (eg water behind a hydroelectric dam) - and so on.

mansr

Major Contributor
Last time I looked, the SI unit for energy wasn't "ton"
It's not the SI unit, but the energy output of (nuclear) bombs is often measured in tons of TNT. I'm no demolition expert, but I'm pretty sure 2.3 tons of TNT is enough to do some serious damage to most audio equipment.

Last edited:

Gregss

Does anyone understand what the manufacturer is trying to say the product does? I read a little voodoo science but I didn't even understand what they were trying to convey. My take away was that a strong or very strong magnet is put near a section of wire or at the end of the wire and the electrons passing through the magnetic field will be aligned in a way to produce better sound?
My question is this, what if aligning the electrons actually does the opposite and it degrades the quality of the signal? How do we know which is better, with or without the magnets? It seems kind of confusing to me as electrons are pretty much like herding cats. They will often do whatever they want unless we brute force them into a certain behavior and that force may damage the signal. Anyone got any ideas or am I missing the whole issue?
Snake oil can be very confusing!