• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

JBL Stage A120 Review By Erin/Hardisj.

Haint

Given the A130 is a favorite of ASR I figured this would be of interest to many here. I had commented on this speaker well before Amirm reviewed the A130 and was decidedly not a fan despite being a total novice at evaluation. A useful lesson in not blindly buying the same series/model line expecting them all to be gems.

Thanks to Erin for the full review

CEA2034 -- JBL Stage A120.png

OP
Haint

Haint

It’s kind of disappointing how bad this speaker is with the ports opened.

Yep, the sealed mode would probably respond pretty well to full range EQ from the more sophisticated suites like Dirac or XT32 though.

CEA2034 -- JBL Stage A120 (stuffed port).png

Jbrunwa

Dirac Live seems to work just fine with open port A120s that I use for height speakers. At this inexpensive price point, they are low distortion and seem to well match with my Revel bed speakers.

Attachments

• A2B6231E-4915-41D8-8FD7-0F8AEF9A5101.png
    A2B6231E-4915-41D8-8FD7-0F8AEF9A5101.png
    208 KB · Views: 190

Gatordaddy

Forum Donor
Given the A130 is a favorite of ASR I figured this would be of interest to many here. I had commented on this speaker well before Amirm reviewed the A130 and was decidedly not a fan despite being a total novice at evaluation. A useful lesson in not blindly buying the same series/model line expecting them all to be gems.

Thanks to Erin for the full review

View attachment 162636