• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

HIDIZS DH80S Review (DAC & Amp)

Wunderphones

Thanks @amirm , I have been eyeing this unit for a couple of months. Measurements are great, but not better than Hidisz S8/S9 (Pro or not) which share some of the internals but have no battery and feed on USB power instead...
To me, this is about features. The S9 loses out to the E1DA in my book, so if I'm looking for a really clean DAC that runs as a dongle, I'm going with that.

But running without bus power is a feature that bumps you up into a higher category. If your use scenarios don't make you think of a battery-powered device as a feature, then yeah. There's no reason except maybe the 4.4mm jack for you to consider this thing. Oh, and the somewhat higher power.

The real direct competitor of this thing is the Topping NX4, which will probably be superseded in the next few months, as it's a little long in the tooth. And I guess the iFi Hip Dac, for people who don't believe in measurements, or who need truckloads of power. I think it's got both those beat for now, although I'm probably going to see what Topping comes up with.

KxDx

Nobody's asking the important question:

How in the hell do you pronounce "hidizs"?

A WORD PLEASE!

download-2.jpeg

Tks

Major Contributor
Don’t know why people are upset with the filter. I’d rather this than those lazy ones that slope down far later. Everyone keeps talking about how this will introduce problems (every negative comment about brick walls and how they raise higher frequency distortion). I don’t really get it since I’ve never heard any issues myself audibly even using aggressive EQ to achieve brick walls.