• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Added a Genelec 7040A sub to my 8030C monitors

Draculr

I've been rocking my Genelec 8030C monitors for a few months now thanks in large part to the ASR review and measurements and I've been very, very happy with them. I always calibrate my setup using a UMIK-1 and REW and they just sound perfect. The effect they have of bringing the singer forwards right into your face is downright magical.

I wanted to experiment with adding a subwoofer to my setup. I never have had a good experience in doing so since my room isn't properly treated for it. But with my success in using REW I thought I'd give it another shot. My 7040A sub arrived from Thomann today and here are my before and after results (left channel shown, right channel is a similar story)

Before:
7040a before.jpg

After:
7040a after.jpg

Wonderful! For an untreated room to have basically 24hz-20,000hz covered and be relatively flat is crazy if you ask me. Even though the 7040A is the smallest Genelec sub and usually recommended for the 8010 and 8020 speakers I think it does a fine job as long as the SPL is enough (which it is for me). Not only does it fill out the bottom end nicely it even somehow got rid of the big null I've always had at the 90hz region. A little more tweaking may be done in the future since there is still a bit of a dip around the 200hz range but for now I'm happy.

Suffice it to say everything I play on this system sounds incredible!

Last edited:

alekksander