• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Feedback on 2.2 coffee table system measurements

VanO

Hello! I'm still pretty new here but I have enjoyed learning a lot from you fine folks. I’ve decided it’s time to get my tunes away from the computer desktop so I’ve had some fun over the past few months putting together this 2.2 coffee table system. I’m trying to do some fine tuning on it and I’m still learning my way around the Umik-1, REW, and a lot of this stuff.

My room is a carpeted concrete floor den (old garage converted). Standard look from the 70s with knotty pine paneling. I’ve done some experimenting with toe-in/out, tilt, and matching sub levels. The LP is on a leather couch 44” from the main speakers (Dali Spektor 2s). Ear level hits right between the tweeters and woofers. The Spektor 2s are 34” apart at the centerline, toed out and tilted down about 3 degrees, and on 6” Kanto stands.

I have a 6.5” (L) sub under the coffee table that is centered below the Spektor 2s. It's on rubber feet on a wood plank. The plank is also on rubber feet and everything is coupled between the floor and coffee table (3/4" of foam padding between the sub and table dampens vibrations).

I have an 8” (R) slimline sub centered and directly under the LP, and slightly forward (36” between sub drivers). The couch is lifted on bricks and foam pads and the sub is coupled between it and the floor. I have a tactile bass shaker mounted directly above it on a plank I installed and I run it at a minimum volume to enhance the 8” sub and put a little more punch around 60Hz.