• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Intermodulation distortion hump on Topping (and others)?

raband

Hey guys,

Bit of a query from a newbie here on the graphs.

In the intermodulation distortion graphs the Topping and others (same chip?) have the hump in the middle of the readings.

To my uninformed eyes that would look pretty bad - and, (am probably wrong here) being in the mid-levels of the graph, likely to be in the main area of the signal/music?

Is it irrelevant because both channels keep even, because it doesn't really matter, or is it something that can be seen as a flaw in that particular chip?

Just interested - it sticks out like a sore thumb to me on the graphs which should?? be ideally straight?

eg:

index.php

index.php

OP
raband

raband

Cheers.

Sort of helps understand why it's there, but not whether it's a large enough of an issue to be of concern

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
OP
raband

raband

How much of an issue is it at the end of the day?

derp1n

Amir, as our resident Topping shill :rolleyes:, any chance of asking them for an explanation for the difference between the DX7 and DX7s? John's explanation should apply equally to various 9028 and 9038 implementations, so there may be other factors in play.

How much of an issue is it at the end of the day?
Seems pretty minor to me.

maverickronin

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Is it only the newer Sabre chips with the IMD hump?

The "Sabre Glare" meme has been around for years.

mindbomb