• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Gustard X16 Balanced MQA DAC Review

Laserjock

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Bits are definitely not bits. There are Ears and Ears - my ears can hear a significant difference between optical and coax, and not only that but there's coax and coax. Sorry for my poor attempt at humour, but after first getting clear improvement after changing from optical to "ordinary" electronic-shop coax I then bought an Audio quality coax and the improvement was staggering. I've been a professional classical musician all my life, see my member name here, sat in the middle of professional symphony orchestras on a daily basis for decades, recon I can hear these differences. Check out my ears here: www.michaelscottflute.com
Is USB the best sounding ?

Fluty

I don't think usb necessarily sounds better, except its direct connection seems to be the only way (without an actual streamer) to get mqa recordings to the X16 from my phone. I'm at the moment wondering if I actually need a streamer!

gustard

Audio Company
@gustard - It says mqa on the screen, but does the X16 do the complete mqa unfold if connected by usb from mobile phone? ie do I really need to use a separate streamer?
MQA is displayed on the screen, which means it is correct. Connecting the X16 through the USB of the mobile phone will open the complete MQA, but it is relatively difficult. The mobile phone needs to output the original code signal. This is related to the playback software (APP). A HiBy APP in China can support MQA, but many APPs do not support it. .

Fluty