• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Mark Waldrep In Trouble AGAIN

OP
Sal1950

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
I don't understand the debate over the iphone used as a measurement device.
In a absolute sense it matters little if the app is accurate at all against any 0db scale.
Simply the ability to measure a 2db change in relative level was all that was required here and even the crudest app should be sufficient for that.
As to where and how the mike was placed, as a recording engineer I'm sure Mark used do diligence in his approach.
We all owe Mark a bit of graditude for once again revealing a fraudulent demo to our community.

sergeauckland

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I think a lot of this debate is missing the main point. The test the cable company was doing was fraudulent and they were found out. They were conning people. How this was discovered is besides the point. Whether Mark could or should have handled this differently is also besides the point. He was brave enough to catch them out and call them out for cheating. In that he should be applauded.

There is evidence that many HiFi companies have done much the same at several shows, turning down the volume when they make a change, then turning it up again, but just that bit further on the one they want to sound better. Couple this with the salesman dancing about, tapping his feet etc etc visibly more when the 'right' system was playing, and we've seen that many if not all such demonstrations are a fraud.