• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Is this a good room correction strategy?

khrisr

I just got a new set of speakers (KEF R3) which I've tried to tune using REW. I'm thinking of inserting a minidsp 2x4 HD between DAC (Oppo UDP-203) and amplifier (NAD C325BEE) to implement the corrections.

As a prototype I created convolution filter using REW + UMIK-2 for measurement using RTA pink noise. I can hear a subtle but significant improvement in the sound and I see it helps some of the music that I found it a bit harsher on the ears. Still needs tweaking but I'm new to all this so wanted to post my overall strategy here to check if I'm going in the right direction. Thanks for reading and any tips are much appreciated.

==FIG 1==

Room = 22 x 21x 7.5 with half partition wall with kitchen in right half
Left speaker = 29" from front wall/45" from left wall (half port bung in place to reduce boundary effect)
Right speaker = 29" from front wall/axially centered (port fully open)

room.jpg

==FIG 2==

In room response (Pink = left speaker Blue = right speaker)

response.jpg

==FIG 3==

Corrected L+R response (Blue = corrected Orange = original)

corrected.jpg

==FIG 4== Roon signal path

Screen Shot 2021-07-30 at 3.46.37 PM.png

Here are some questions I'm contemplating. Would be great to hear any recommendations -

(1) Will adding miniDSP to the signal chain degrade sound significantly? I see the chips have similar specs so I'm hoping they would be equivalent.

miniDSP => ADSP21489 => 115 DR 107 S/(N+D)
UDP-203 => AK4458VN => 115 DB SNR THD+N: -107dB

(2) Is having port bung only on one side recommended? I haven't heard of this but it does make the L and R responses much closer.