• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

KEF LS50 WII in Room Measurements

jstownse

Hi everyone,

I am an audio novice, and even less experienced with REW and all of its features and technical measurements. I am hopeful that this thread will still provide some interest to some, and perhaps some advice for me regarding how to improve my experience.

I’ve been enjoying my LS50 WII’s for a few months now, but bought a UMIK-1 and downloaded REW anyways. I’m hoping to just get a basic understanding of what I’m hearing now, and perhaps eventually try to EQ/room correction.

Depending on how my experience with the measurements and EQ proceeds, I’m hoping to settle on one of these options:

• Stick with a “stock” LS50 WII experience, if the measurements and REW prove too challenging
  • Create an informed, basic, EQ profile using the KEF Connect app’s EQ functions that is good enough
  • Create a more robust EQ profile in Equalizer APO and use my computer to stream Spotify
  • Create a more robust EQ profile for a Roon and Qobuz trial to avoid the computer streaming solution

I also thought it might be interesting to “test” the effects of KEF’s different EQ functions built into their KEF Connect app. They include: “Bass Extension”, “Wall Mode”, “Desk Mode”, “Treble Trim” and a “Phase Correction”. I figured these tests will help me learn my way around REW and might produce some interesting data. I’m also hoping that you guys might find the data interesting and incentivized to suggest improvements, tips, or just basic commentary.