• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Newbie looking for suggestions 3.1 + AVR 5k

caitlyn.kelly

Ok so I am relatively new to all this, however, I have been trying to educate myself as much as possible. I am looking to put together a 3.1 setup for my living room.
Budget of 5000 USD for the complete setup - I don't have anything to begin with. This will be primarily used for 51% movies/cable TV and 49% music. I mostly stream movies from Netflix, HBO, Disney etc. basically streaming services and have a ton of digital copies that I stream via Plex.
Music wise I mostly listen to Blues, R&B, Classic Rock, Alternative, Pop. In that order.

Currently do not have the luxury of sparing out a room for this setup, hence, this will be in the living room which is relatively large (3500+ cu. ft.) and backs to the kitchen which is also big (2200+ cu. ft.). At least for now there's no provision for surround, to circumvent that I may put in-ceiling, however, not in the near future.Unfortunately it's all hard reflective surfaces all around - glass, wood, walls. With the exception of a 10x10 rug and a sectional couch. As far as pictures go, I still haven’t moved into the place yet.