• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Record Cleaning Techniques -- Objectivist Comparison Protocol or Audiophool's Folly?

cjfrbw

I still love vinyl, but guilty as charged on the nostalgic angle. When I was a poor student, I would go to the record stores that were laced with burning incense and horn loaded honkers mounted in the corners playing records and bask and sift through the piles of unaffordium.

When I saw the records going for 25 cents to 50 cents decades later in thrifts barely a step from the dumpsters, it did make me a little collector crazy. Now that vinyl is 'in fashion' again, the thrifts hold no treasures any more that I can find, they are picked through.

Vinyl is still my favorite medium. However, something strange happened somewhere in the "ten years ago or so" range where I noticed that digital suddenly got better. I can now have enjoyable listening sessions with 128kbs media. Either the media and digital playback have gotten that good, or my ears have become tin for good and I am in audiophool senescence.

On my big rig, it used to be 90 percent vinyl listening and 10 percent digital. Nowadays, it is more like 50-50.

I did play a joke on a guy who came to listen once:

Me: "I am going to play some hi-rez digital now."
Him: "OK"
Play music for a while.

Him: "That sounded really good, who was that playing?"
Me: "It was ***** in 128kbs AAC."
Him: "I thought you said it was hi-rez?"
Me: "Well, it is compared to 64kbs."

I watch as he knots his eyebrows and re-evaluates his listening experience.

Him: "That was mean."
Me: "I know, I am a bastard, sorry, I just wanted to see if you could actually tell."

OP
Jake's Dad

Jake's Dad