• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

DROP + SENNHEISER PC38X Review (Headphone)

Thomas_A

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Good review. Gives an example that headphones with a close target response may show up when you are not expecting it. There are more of them "out there", but finding them is not easy.

blse59

I am no gamer, but wouldn't a Gaming headphone with poor spatial qualities out of the box would be a dud? Can you even EQ videogames sound and if so would that help in localizing your opponents? Just curious, it's seams than specifically this would be the very most important thing in gaming no? I have zero experience with that type of use case for headphones so I ask.

No, that is a myth that keeps getting perpetuated over and over again by ignorant people kind of like gold cables warming up the sound and silver cables giving more sterile sound. The only thing you need for gaming is a headphone that outputs stereo sound. The game engine itself already attenuates the sound (footsteps, gunfire) based on how close or far away it is. The game engine already uses stereo sound to position audio cues. Professional esports players play with iem's which compared to full sized headphones have zero soundstage and "imaging" (whatever that is).

Are there any stand-out reasons to pick the Sennheiser PC38X over the AKG K371 for headphone performance in the $100-150 price range?

This makes me even more curious to see where the Sennheiser HD560S slots in ($200).
Yes, I don't have the PC38x but I imagine it has the typical Sennheiser expert and experienced build quality. The K371 was designed by amateurs it feels like. The sizing mechanism they use for the headphone is amateurish at best.